Beaver Creek Domestic Violence Defense Attorneys
Call (970) 919-1114 to Let Us Fight for You
Although being in a marriage or loving relationship has many blissful moments, confrontation does occur from time to time. On some occasions, an argument can turn violent, resulting in instant regret and embarrassment, especially when the police get involved. Being accused of domestic violence can make you appear guilty in the eyes of the community, even if you have yet to step foot inside a courtroom. It is imperative to get legal help from an attorney.
At Heckman & O’Connor, our Beaver Creek criminal defense lawyers can protect your rights, reputation, and freedom. With nearly 40 years of experience, we understand how to mitigate the damage done after the allegations become public knowledge and develop a strong defense strategy to get the results you desire.
Colorado Domestic Violence Laws & Penalties
Domestic violence is considered a violent act or a threat of such an act against a person who currently is or has been involved in an intimate relationship with the alleged offender, such as a current or ex-spouse, current or ex-lover, or someone who shares the same children with the alleged offender. Since Colorado is a mandatory arrest state, the alleged offender will be immediately arrested if police officers suspect domestic violence is involved.
Remember, domestic violence isn’t a standalone crime; rather, it is considered an “aggravator” or “sentence enhancer” that is added to various misdemeanors and felonies to trigger specific sentences.
The following are the most common types of crimes which can be enhanced by domestic violence:
- Third-degree assault – Knowingly causing bodily injury to someone else by using a deadly weapon. This violent crime is considered a Class 1 misdemeanor, punishable by a maximum 18-month jail term and a fine of up to $5,000.
- Menacing – Knowingly placing or attempting to place someone else in fear of serious bodily injury through threats or physical action. Menacing is a Class 3 misdemeanor, which carries a maximum six-month jail sentence and a fine not exceeding $750. If a deadly weapon was involved, it is a Class 5 felony that results in three years of imprisonment and a fine of up to $100,000.
- Harassment – This includes making physical contact with an individual, hurling insults and obscene language, making threats, stalking, and even cyberbullying. Harassment is a Class 3 misdemeanor.
If you are found guilty of domestic violence, in addition to the criminal penalties for specific charges, you will be subject to counseling and treatment, a restraining order, and probation. Furthermore, a conviction can have a negative impact on your parental rights, your career, your right to own a firearm, and many other aspects of your life.
Get Skilled Legal Representation Today
If you have been accused of domestic violence, our Beaver Creek criminal defense attorneys are ready to do what it takes to get the best possible outcome. Getting legal counsel as soon as you are arrested is an important step toward clearing your name.
For more information, contact us and schedule a free consultation today.