Beaver Creek DUI/DWAI Attorneys
Call 970-926-5991 for Knowledgeable & Skilled Legal Services in Colorado
A conviction for driving a vehicle while under the influence (DUI) or driving while your ability is impaired (DWAI) can result in serious consequences. Not only do you face jail time, license suspension, and fines, but also a permanent criminal record which can have a negative impact on your ability to gain or maintain employment, apply for college, find housing, and take advantage of life’s opportunities in general.
If you have been arrested for drunk driving in Colorado, our Beaver Creek criminal defense lawyers at Heckman & O'Connor can do our best to help you avoid conviction or get your charges/penalties reduced. With nearly four decades of legal experience, we can guide you through the complexities of the local criminal court process to ensure you get the best outcome possible in your case.
The Difference Between DUI & DWAI
In Colorado, you could be charged with DUI or DWAI, or even both. In regard to DUI, a person is “under the influence” if his or her blood alcohol content (BAC) is at least .08 percent or significant impairment has an impact on the individual’s ability to safely drive the vehicle.
The following are the penalties for a DUI in Colorado:
- First DUI offense – Jail sentence between five days and one year, a fine not exceeding $1,000, license suspension for up to nine months, and a maximum 96 hours of community service.
- Second DUI offense – Jail term between ten days and one year, a fine of up to $1,500, license suspension for no more than one year (if it is a second conviction within five years), and a maximum 120 hours of community service.
- Third DUI offense – Jail sentence between 60 days and one year, a fine not exceeding $1,500, license suspension for an indefinite period of time (apply for reinstatement after two years), and a maximum 120 hours of community service.
DWAI, on the other hand, means the person is only slightly impaired or has a BAC between .05 and less than .08 percent. It is considered a lesser offense compared to DUI and doesn’t include license suspension.
The penalties for a Colorado DWAI include:
- First DWAI offense – Jail term between two days and 180 days, a fine no more than $500, up to 48 hours of community service, and eight points on your DMV record.
- Second or third DWAI offense – Jail sentence between ten days and one year, a fine not exceeding $1,500, up to 120 hours of community service, and eight points on your DMV record.
Let Us Create a Defense Plan Today
Our Beaver Creek criminal defense lawyers understand how emotionally overwhelming this situation can be. While you focus on taking back control of your life, we can investigate your case, gather evidence, handle all the paperwork, negotiate with the prosecution, and help you get the most favorable results.
Contact us and schedule a free consultation today for more information.